EVENT - Tour
NOTE: This event has now SOLD OUT
There is a Wait List in operation, and you will be contacted should a space become available.
Saturday, 1 April, 2:15 - 4:15
Join Eric Parry Architects and one of the ‘Brothers’ of Charterhouse for a very special tour of one of London’s hidden gems.
Eric Parry Architects with Todd Longstaff-Gowan landscape architects are working on plans to open up the The Charterhouse with a museum, learning centre and cafe. Hear the story of this historic enclave, centred on a 14th century Carthusian monastery, originally the chapel site for a Black Death burial ground founded by Sir Walter de Manny.
Following the Dissolution int eh 16th century it became a Tudor mansion house, and thereafter a charitable school and almshouse in the 17th century thanks to the philanthropy of a wealthy commoner, Thomas Sutton. The Charterhouse School moved in the 19th century and the almshouse became the primary occupant of the site. It was occupied by elderly gentleman known as ‘Brothers’. It was bombed in 1941 and repaired extensively in the 1950s.